Ballon d’Or: Messi, Ronaldo, Lewandowski, Jorginho and Neymar among nominees for award

Ballon d'Or: Messi, Ronaldo, Lewandowski, Jorginho and Neymar among nominees for award
Ballon d'Or: Messi, Ronaldo, Lewandowski, Jorginho and Neymar among nominees for award

Chelsea’s Jorginho, Lionel Messi of Paris St-Germain and Robert Lewandowski of Bayern Munich were shortlisted for the men’s Ballon d’Or. Messi became the 2019 champion with the sixth recording. The winner won the first international title while helping Argentina win the 2021 Copa America.

Italian midfielder Jorginho helped Chelsea win the Champions League last season earlier than prevailing Euro 2020 together along with his united states withinside the summer.

Polish striker Lewandowski won the European Golden Shoe 2020-21, after scoring 41 goals in the Bundesliga when Bayern Munich won the German league title last season.

Cristiano Ronaldo, a five-time Manchester United winner and Real Madrid’s Luka Modric – the only player besides Messi to win the trophy since 2008 – have both been nominated.

There are 14 Premier League players in the 3021 squad for 2021 and five members of the Italian team that won the European Championship.

The Ballon d’Or, organized by France Football, is awarded annually to the world’s best footballer.

The award was not released in 2020 – for the first time since 1956 – due to the coronavirus epidemic.

The winner of the award will be announced on November 29 at the Paris’ Theater du Chatelet.

Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund) of England, Mason Greenwood (Manchester United) and Bakay Saka (Arsenal) are among the 10 Kopa Trophy nominees, who are under-21 players.

The Yashin Trophy is the best goalkeeper and the four Premier League players with 10 players are Chelsea and Edouard Mendy of Senegal, Ederson of Manchester City, Kasper Schmeichel of Leicester City, Denmark and Emiliano Martinez of Aston Villa.

Ballon d’Or Nominees

  • Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea, Spain)

  • Nicolo Barella (Inter Milan, Italy)

  • Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France)

  • Leonardo Bonucci (Juventus, Italy)

  • Kevin de Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)

  • Giorgio Chiellini (Juventus, Italy)

  • Ruben Dias (Manchester City, Portugal)

  • Gianluigi Donnarumma (PSG, Italy)

  • Bruno Fernandes (Manchester United, Portugal)

  • Phil Foden (Manchester City, England)

  • Erling Braut Haaland (Borussia Dortmund, Norway)

  • Jorginho (Chelsea, Italy)

  • Harry Kane (Tottenham, England)\

  • N’Golo Kante (Chelsea, France)

  • Simon Kjaer (AC Milan, Denmark)

  • Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, Poland)

  • Romelu Lukaku (Chelsea, Belgium)

  • Riyad Mahrez (Manchester City, Algeria)

  • Lautaro Martinez (Inter Milan, Argentina)

  • Kylian Mbappe (PSG, France)

  • Lionel Messi (PSG, Argentina)

  • Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)

  • Gerard Moreno (Villarreal, Spain)

  • Mason Mount (Chelsea, England)

  • Neymar (PSG, Brazil)

  • Pedri (Barcelona, Spain)

  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, Portugal)

  • Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt)

  • Raheem Sterling (Manchester City, England)

  • Luis Suarez (Atletico Madrid, Uruguay)