ICC Announces First Ever All-Women Match Officials’ Panel For Women’s T20 World Cup 2023; Three Indians Included


The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the match officials for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023, to be held in South Africa. For the first time in the history of ICC tournaments, all match officials at the event will be women. The first all-female panel of match officials included three Indians, umpires Vrinda Rathi and N Janani along with match referee G S Lakshmi.

The ICC’s strategic ambition to increase women’s participation and visibility in cricket continue with 13 women officials for the T20 World Cup, breaking the previous record of nine women match officials for the ongoing U19 Women’s T20 World Cup. The total 13-member panel includes three match referees and 10 umpires (on-field and televised) from seven different countries.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Australia tour of India 2023

ICC Women's T20 WC 2023
ICC Women’s T20 WC 2023 (Image Credits: Twitter)

Start Of Our Journey Where Men And Women Enjoy The Same Opportunities – Wasim Khan

Wasim Khan, the ICC’s General Manager of Cricket, said that they are thrilled to announce the panel of match officials for the Women’s T20 World Cup.

“Women’s cricket has been growing rapidly in recent years and as part of that, we have been building the pathways to ensure more women have the opportunity to officiate at the highest level,” Wasim Khan said.

GS Lakshmi (centre) is one of three Indians in the panel
Image Credits: Getty Images

“This announcement is a reflection of our intent in this space and just the start of our journey where men and women enjoy the same opportunities across our sport. We are committed to continuing to support our female match officials and provide opportunities to showcase their talents on the global stage. I wish them all the best for the tournament.”

The Women’s T20 World Cup will begin on February 10 with the hosts, South Africa taking on Sri Lanka in Newlands, Cape Town. The total teams were divided into two groups, and the top two teams from each group will advance to the semi-finals. The final of the tournament will be held on February 26.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Match Officials at the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup 2023

Match Referees: GS Lakshmi (India), Shandre Fritz (South Africa), Michell Pereira (Sri Lanka)

Umpires: Sue Redfern (England), Eloise Sheridan (Australia), Claire Polosak (Australia), Jacqueline Williams (West Indies), Kim Cotton (New Zealand), Lauren Agenbag (South Africa), Anna Harris (England), Vrinda Rathi (India), N Janani (India), Nimali Perera (Sri Lanka)

Also read: “There’s No One Who Can Stand In Front Of Him Right Now” – Rashid Latif On Players Complaining About Babar Azam’s Captaincy

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button