India T20 Squad for New Zealand Announced, Hardik Pandya To Lead


The New Selection committee led by Chetan Sharma, have picked India’s T20 squad for the upcoming series against New Zealand. Hardik Pandya has been appointed as the captain of the T20 side with senior players including Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul being rested for the series.

The new selection committee was announced a few days ago with Chetan Sharma being retained by the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC) of the BCCI interviewing more than a dozen of candidates last week. Notably, Jasprit Bumrah is still missing from all the squads announced by the BCCI for the New Zealand series.

India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I
India vs Sri Lanka 1st T20I (Image Credits: Twitter)

India T20 Squad for New Zealand Announced

After beating Sri Lanka at home in the last series, Hardik Pandya has been retained as the captain of the India National Cricket Team for the series against New Zealand. Rohit Sharma himself admitted ahead of the ODI series against Sri Lanka that he has not closed doors on his T20I career but a definite decision will be done after IPL 2023.

Hardik Pandya, Rohit Sharma
Hardik Pandya, Rohit Sharma. (Photo: Getty)

India T20 Squad for New Zealand: Hardik Pandya (C), Suryakumar Yadav (vc), Ishan Kishan (wk), R Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Y Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, Mukesh Kumar

Team India To Play 3 T20Is and 3 ODIs vs New Zealand Before Border-Gavaskar Trophy

The Men in Blue are currently playing against Sri Lanka in a three-match ODI series having already won the series 2-0. The final game of the series will be played at Thiruvananthpuram on January 15. The New Zealand series will commence on January 18 with the ODI series being played first. The T20I series will be played from January 27.

New Zealand National Cricket Team
New Zealand National Cricket Team (Image Credits: Twitter)

New Zealand have already announced their T20 squad for the series against India. Tom Southee and Kane Williamson have been rested for the T20I series with Mitchell Santner leading the Blackcaps for the series.


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button