Indian Premier League (IPL)

IPL 2021: Chennai Super Kings beat Kolkata Knight Riders in final to win fourth title

Chennai Super Kings won the IPL 2021 trophy while Kolkata Knight Riders lost by 27 runs in the final.

Batting first, the winning team scored 192 for 3, Faf du Plessis played an innings of 86 off 59 balls, Moeen Ali scored 37 not out off 20 balls, Robin Uthappa 31 and Ratraj Gaikwad 32 not out. Sunil Narine took 2 wickets for 26 runs.

Kolkata were restricted to 165 for 9, with Shubman Gill (51) and Venkatesh Iyer (50) all out, Shardul Thakur (3) and Ravindra Jadeja and Hazelwood (2.2).

Chennai, led by captain MS Dhoni, add another trophy to the cabinet, having won the IPL in 2010, 2011 and 2018.

Dhoni refused to say after whether he was going to retire or play another season, but added that “I haven’t left it behind yet” when told he could be proud of his legacy.

It should be noted that Dhoni made the 300th match as captain memorable with the title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button