Jay Shah Congratulates Bidders As BCCI Announces Women’s Premier League (WPL) As The Official Name


On January 25, BCCI Secretary Jay Shah disclosed the name of the forthcoming T20 competition and said the organisation had received total bids of Rs. 4669 crores. The “Women’s Premier League” will be the name of the BCCI’s new women’s T20 league. The tournament’s introduction procedure was initiated by the BCCI last year.

The WPL broke records, surpassing the inaugural Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008 by garnering a total bid of Rs.4669.99 crore, which marks a significant step forward for women’s cricket in India and sets the stage for a transformative journey ahead.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | Australia tour of India 2023

Jay Shah on Women's IPL
Jay Shah Photo Credit: (Twitter)

WPL Will Bring Necessary Reforms In Women’s Cricket: Jay Shah

“Today is a historic day in cricket as the bidding for teams of the inaugural #WPL broke the records of the inaugural Men’s IPL in 2008! Congratulations to the winners as we garnered Rs.4669.99 Cr in total bid. This marks the beginning of a revolution in women’s cricket and paves the way for a transformative journey ahead not only for our women cricketers but for the entire sports fraternity.

The #WPL would bring necessary reforms in women’s cricket and would ensure an all-encompassing ecosystem that benefits each and every stakeholder,” Jay Shah wrote on Twitter. “The @BCCI has named the league – Women’s Premier League (WPL). Let the journey begin…..”

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

The tournament’s debut season will include participation from a total of 5 teams. The crucial dates for the next tournament will be released by the BCCI soon. The next month, there will be a player auction. The franchise would have a budget of Rs 12 crore for the IPL 2023 auction, according to Cricbuzz. In 2024, it will rise to 13.5 crores, followed by 15 crores, 16.5 crores, 18.5 crores, and 18 crores in 2027.

It also stated that a maximum of 5 foreign players will be permitted to feature in the WPL starting XI. According to reports, Mumbai will host the event from March 4 to March 26.

Women's IPL. Pic Credits: Twitter.
Jay Shah, Sourav Ganguly and Smriti Mandhana. Pic Credits: Twitter.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has announced the successful bidders for the inaugural Women’s Premier League (WPL) and the amount each team was awarded. The successful bidders are as follows:

  1. Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd for Ahmedabad at a bid of 1289 crores
  2. Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd for Mumbai at a bid of 912.99 crores
  3. JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd for Bengaluru at a bid of 901 crores
  4. Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd for Delhi at a bid of 810 crores
  5. Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd for Lucknow at a bid of 757 crores

Also Read: WIPL Set To Make BCCI Richer By INR 4000 Crore: Report

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button