Steve Smith, Beth Mooney Named Cricketers Of The Year


The 2022-23 Summer for Australia’s Cricket Team was quite a decent one apart from the T20 WC. The Aussies registered Test Series wins over West Indies & South Africa and almost have qualified for the ICC World Test Championship (WTC 2021-23) final.

Australian Women continued their dominance as they won Commonwealth Games and thrashed India in their backyard in a T20I Series. The Aussies would be hoping that they defend their T20 WC title in February in South Africa which promises to be an enthralling contest.

IPL 2023 | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score Australia tour of India 2023

Australia Women's National Cricket Team
Australia Women’s National Cricket Team. Pic Credits: Twitter.

Steve Smith & Beth Mooney Win Awards

Steve Smith claimed the Allan Border Medal for a record-equaling 4th time. Apart from him Ricky Ponting & Michael Clarke have won the prestigious award. Across all the 3 formats, Steve Smith scored 1,547 runs in 32 matches. The batter had a prolific year in Tests as he scored 863 runs with an average of 71.92.  Smith got 171 votes ahead of Travis Head (144) and David Warner (141).

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Steven Smith
Steven Smith. Pic Credits: Twitter.

Beth Mooney won the Belinda Clark medal award for a consecutive time. She also won the ODI Player of the Year award as she amassed 594 runs in 13 matches with an average of 99. In the shorter format, she scored 449 runs at an average of 56.12 and a strike rate of 134.43. Mooney got 129 votes finished ahead of Meg Lanning(110) and Tahlia McGrath (95),

Usman Khawaja Wins Inaugural Shane Warne Award

In the remembrance of late Shane Warne, Cricket Australia named Men’s Test Cricketer Award to his name. Usman Khawaja won the award as he scored 1,020 runs at an average of 78.46 where he registered his highest score of 195 against South Africa in the 3rd Test match. The batter has been the pillar of Australia’s batting unit.

Usman Khawaja
Usman Khawaja. (Photo by Cameron Spencer/Getty Images)

David Warner won the ODI player of the year. The left-handed batter was in rollicking form against England where he was seen thrashing the bowlers all-around the park. Marcus Stoinis, the flamboyant all-rounder won the T20I player of the year.

Also Read: IND vs NZ: “Surprised To See Yuzvendra Chahal Bowl Only 2 Overs”- Gautam Gambhir

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah


Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button