“This Is The Sportsmanship” – Twitter Reacts To Rohit Sharma Withdrawing Dasun Shanaka’s Run-Out Appeal At Non-striker’s End


Many fans on Twitter praised India National Cricket Team captain Rohit Sharma for his decision to withdraw the run-out appeal at the non-striker’s end against the Sri Lanka National Cricket Team captain Dasun Shanaka, but on the other hand, many felt that the Indian captain took a wrong decision.

The incident happened on the 4th ball of the final over of the innings during Sri Lanka’s run-chase in the ODI series opener in Guwahati when the Lankan captain was at the non-striker’s end at the score of 98*.

Mohammed Shami, Rohit Sharma
Mohammed Shami, Rohit Sharma (Image Credits: Twitter)

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Pacer Mohammed Shami, who was bowling the last over, saw the Sri Lanka captain backing up too far and decided to simply knock the bails off at the non-striker’s end and then appeal for a run-out.

As the on-field umpire went upstairs to check the dismissal, Rohit Sharma quickly intervened and alongside Shami decided to withdraw the run-out appeal.

Dasun Shanaka
Dasun Shanaka. Image: Sri Lanka Cricket

IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka Tour Of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia Tour Of India 2023 

Rohit’s decision to withdraw the run-out appeal didn’t have any impact on the match as India easily managed to seal a 67-run win, but it helped captain Shanaka register his second century in ODIs.

Shanaka put up a sensational fight and scored a stunning 108* runs off 88 balls, including 12 fours and 3 sixes. Also, he stitched together brilliant 100* runs in 73 balls with Kasun Rajitha, but the target of 374 seemed just overly big to chase down. After the conclusion of the match, Shanaka shook hands with Rohit and appreciated his gesture of withdrawing the appeal.

Rohit Sharma
Rohit Sharma (Image Credits: Twitter)

Speaking at the post-match presentation ceremony, Rohit said that the Sri Lanka captain batted brilliantly and they didn’t want to run him out at the non-striker’s end.

I had no idea Shami did that (run-out), he was batting on 98. The way he batted was brilliant, we cannot get him out like that. Not something that we thought off, hats off to him, he played really well,” Rohit Sharma said during the post-match presentation ceremony.

Here’s How Twitter Reacted To Rohit Sharma’s Decision To Withdraw Run-Out Appeal:


Also Read: IND vs SL: Watch – Rohit Sharma Inside-Edges Dilshan Madushanka Onto His Stumps In Guwahati ODI To Miss Out On A Ton




Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button