Twitter Reacts As Dasun Shanaka Guides Sri Lanka To 16-run Win Over India In Thrilling 2nd T20I To Level The Series 1-1


The second T20I of the three-match series between Hardik Pandya-led India National Cricket Team and Dasun Shanaka-led Sri Lanka National Cricket Team was played at the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune on Thursday, January 5.

Sri Lanka National Cricket Team defeated India National Cricket Team by 16 runs in the thrilling second T20I match to level the series 1-1. The third T20I will be played at the Saurashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Rajkot on Saturday, January 7.

 IPL 2023 | Sri Lanka Tour Of India 2023 | Dream11 Prediction | Fantasy Cricket Tips | Cricket Match Prediction Today | Cricket News | Cricket Live Score | New Zealand tour of India 2023 | Australia Tour Of India 2023 

Earlier, India National Cricket Team won the toss and opted to bowl first in the match. They made two changes to the playing XI, with one being a forced one. Debutant Rahul Tripathi replaced injured Sanju Samson and star left-arm seamer Arshdeep Singh replaced medium-pacer Harshal Patel.

IND vs SL: Watch – Rahul Tripathi Receives His T20I Debut Cap From India Batting Coach Vikram Rathour
Rahul Tripathi Receives His T20I Debut Cap From India Batting Coach Vikram Rathour ( PC – BCCI)

Sri Lanka National Cricket Team, on the other hand, made no changes to the playing XI and captain Dasun Shanaka told that they anyway wanted to bat first because teams batting first have a better record at the MCA Stadium.

IPL 2023 | India National Cricket Team | IND vs SL 2023 | India vs Sri Lanka 2023 | IND vs NZ 2023 | India vs New Zealand 2023 | IND vs AUS 2023 | India vs Australia 2023

Captain Hardik Pandya bowled a phenomenal first over, giving away just two runs and on the contrary, Arshdeep Singh bowled a terrible second over that had 3 no-balls and gave away 19 runs.

Opener Kusal Mendis batted very well in the next two overs and helped Sri Lanka register 11 and 15 runs. However, good next two overs from spinners Axar Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal meant that the Lankan Lions were restricted to 55/0 inside the powerplay.

The 32-year-old leggie Chahal got the first breakthrough for India by dismissing Mendis for 52 in the 9th over. Then, Indian bowlers made an outstanding comeback in the match by picking up wickets at regular intervals and restricted Sri Lanka to 138/6 in 16 overs.

Dasun Shanaka. Photo- BCCI
Dasun Shanaka. Photo- BCCI

In the last 3 overs, Dasun Shanaka demolished the Indian bowling attack and helped his side post 206/6 on the board. The Sri Lankan captain smashed 56 runs off 22 balls, including 2 fours and 6 sixes, and added 68 runs with Chamika Karunaratne.

This was the first time Sri Lanka scored 200+ in a T20I against India since January 2010. Also, overall this was the first time Sri Lanka scored 200+ in a T20I against any opponent since 2018.

Chasing the target, India were off to the worst possible start in the match. Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi and Hardik Pandya all got out inside powerplay as Kasun Rajitha bagged two wickets while Dilshan Madushanka and Chamika Karunaratne picked up one wicket each.

After the dismissal of Deepak Hooda in the 10th over, Axar Patel and Suryakumar Yadav stitched up an absolutely exceptional partnership of 91 runs in 40 balls.

Axar Patel and Deepak Hooda
Axar Patel and Deepak Hooda (Image Credits: Twitter)

Pacer Dilshan Madushanka got the breakthrough for his side and broke the crucial partnership by dismissing Suryakumar Yadav in the 16th over. The No.1 ranked T20I batter smashed 51 runs off 36 balls, including 3 fours and 3 sixes.

In the end, Axar Patel and Shivam Mavi had an incredible 41 runs partnership in 22 balls, before the former was dismissed by captain Dasun Shanaka in the final over and the Men In Blue failed to chase down the enormous total as they were restricted to 190/8.

Here’s How Twitter Reacted To Nail-biting 2nd T20I Between India and Sri Lanka In Pune:

Also Read: IND vs SL: Watch – Debutant Rahul Tripathi Grabs A Terrific Catch To Dismiss Pathum Nissanka In Pune T20I

Virat Kohli | Rohit Sharma | Rishabh Pant | KL Rahul | Suryakumar Yadav | Sanju Samson | Shreyas Iyer | Yuzvendra Chahal | Jasprit Bumrah




Source link

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button